So…Michael Jackson’s dead. And the internet’s gone fucking ballistic. Denizens of Facebook are all dedicating their statuses to him, Twittershitters have crashed the site’s server, and Wikipedia had 500 edits on the Michael Jackson article within 24 hours. And maybe I’m missing something. I mean, my Facebook status doesn’t mention him. I never really even got into his music. I like “Beat It” and it’s a fun song on Guitar Hero too, but is that really reason to cry over the guy? I guess maybe I just have better things to do than mourn the death of a celebrity.

Honestly, this all seems vaguely familiar to me and I get a very strong sense of deja vu. In fact, this takes me back to several years ago when beloved television icon Steve Irwin died. Everyone went apeshit then and I didn’t understand it either. Why do people feel inextricable bonds to celebrities as if they were their own blood? Michael Jackson doesn’t know who you are. He never did. So why spend more than a moment’s time feeling anything other than apathy about his death? It all seems rather silly to me, but then again, when has the internet really impressed anyone with its collective intellect?

2 responses to “

  1. I found out literally 20mins after he died, couldn’t decide whether it was a hoax or not. Only TMZ.com was reporting it at the time too.How did you hear about it?(you don’t like Thriller?!)

  2. Pingback: Make me feel alive, take me back to paradise | Existentialists R Us

Leave a Reply

