Setting about getting a new pc over the last few days. I’m building it myself, however. I got some pretty good parts!

Athlon II X2 250 @ 3.0GHz
4 gigs of Crucial DDR2-800
750gb Seagate SATA

And the most important component?

An Apevia X-Plorer. The fucking thing has BLUE LIGHTS!

I bought some okay ASUS board but I’m gonna return it because I found a boner worthy deal today in an auction for an M2R32-MVP, a $300 board, for $40 stupid bucks. I love eBay. The board’s Crossfire compatible so I’ll be able to run dual GPUs further down the road if I see fit.

PSU wise, I needed one that specifically has two PCI-E connectors (SLI/Crossfire ready), and so I found a 700 watt OCZ GameXStream for $58. Again, eBay is terrific.

Now I just need a GPU. I’m (im)patiently awaiting the arrival of ATI’s Radeon HD5850 as it’s the new wave of cards that support DX11. Since I’m getting a new pc, I’d rather not have an obsolete GPU. The 5850’s coming out next week though, so I’ve ordered a nice cheap $25 GPU in the meantime so I can at least get my rig on its legs.

Supporting a habit like this is expensive, sadly.

Leave a Reply

