Salsa night

Another salsa night at a different club tonight. Every time I go, I get a little bit more comfortable being in my own skin. I think I had 5 or so dances tonight. I realized I have no idea how to dance bachata (though the basic steps aren’t terribly complicated), and I’m still pretty bad at salsa. Merengue is my salvation because it’s absolutely the easiest fucking dance in the world. I met a pretty cool lady tonight who gave me a few tips and I think I can learn from her. Asian girl was also out tonight, but thankfully she wasn’t a bother.

To my horror, I actually recognized a girl tonight from a dating site, which is honestly about as awkward as it sounds. Thankfully she didn’t recognize me.

“Society is afraid of alonedom, like lonely hearts are wasting away in basements, like people must have problems if, after a while, nobody is dating them. but lonely is a freedom that breaths easy and weightless and lonely is healing if you make it.”

2 responses to “Salsa night

  1. Ahh bachata is so fun though! You’ll pick it up no problem. Also, the how to be alone video is pretty much one of my favorite things. I’ve watched it every few months for years now. It’s wonderful.

  2. @stretch7 – Yeah, all these dances just take practice. It gets a little easier every week. I’ll never be at the level of some dudes out there, but that’s alright. And yeah, this poem kinda blew me away. Tanya Davis is a really talented Canadian poetess. Loneliness is what we make of it.

Leave a Reply

