A Flaky Crust

I’ve dealt with a couple of flaky girls in my past. These wastes of time will typically either make empty promises of future contact or just ignore texts. But this latest girl is something different. What started as a number obtained at a party last Saturday was initially to be a date the following Tuesday, which got rescheduled the day before to Sunday due to prior engagements she had. My Thursday became open so I suggested meeting then, which she agreed to. A few hours later, she asks to keep the Sunday instead because she forgot that she had class later that day. She apologized for being disorganized. Sunday rolls around and two hours before the date she texts with another excuse, something about her family having to be out their house, which I interpreted as them moving, but I didn’t ask for her to specify. I was a bit irritated at this point, but she seemed legitimately apologetic, said her time would be easier to come by this week and even went so far as to say “I understand if you’re sick of planning.” So I figured I had nothing to lose and decided to give it one last ditch effort. Zero expectations. She thanked me for being so understanding. We scheduled the date for today at 3. At 11:30 I get a call. It’s her. This is the first time either of us have called the other. It’s a gutsy move and even I was a little blown away when I saw her on the caller ID. She tells me she’s at the doctor’s getting tested for strep. She says she’s calling so that I don’t think she’s lying. She clearly has a sore throat over the phone. It’s nice to hear her voice, at least. I tell her to feel better and that we’ll talk soon.

If this is a ruse, it’s the most elaborate ruse in all of humankind. But I don’t think it’s a ruse. I think luck is just not friends with either of us right now. Besides, nothing in my life has ever come easy anyway.

“The world is full of people who are very clever at seeming much smarter than they really are. They dazzle us with facts and quotations and foreign words and so on, whereas the truth is that they know almost nothing of use in life as it is really lived.” – Vonnegut, “Slapstick”

I wonder how accurately that quote defines me. Ha.

One response to “A Flaky Crust

  1. Pingback: 2013: A Year In Review | Existentialists R Us

Leave a Reply

