This weekend was pretty fantastic.

I flew into Cincinnati Friday afternoon and had my buddy Andrew meet me. We’ve been friends for over 6 years and never actually hung out in person until this weekend. It definitely had the potential to be weird, but thankfully wasn’t anything of the sort. We both like scotch, beer, cars, and videogames, and honestly that’s way more than enough to be friends with me. His wife was super chill. They’ve got two cats, one of which quickly took a liking to me, to the extent where he would meow outside my bedroom at 8 am until I opened the door and let him in.

On Friday, we mostly just drank. Andrew had some friends come over and we played Cards Against Humanity, which is a mostly stupid game with some funny moments.

On Saturday, we went to downtown Cincinatti. We checked out the farmer’s market, which is supposedly the biggest in the Midwest. Later, we went to check out an art museum that housed a variety of American, British, Egyptian, Roman and contemporary art. Cincinatti is a cool city with very odd neighborhoods consisting of huge mansions adjacent to pretty ho hum little houses.

Sunday was the highlight of the weekend, though. The Cincinatti Concours d’Elegance was held this weekend and it didn’t disappoint. There were classic cars, Porsches, Ferraris, and Aston Martins everywhere. I even saw a 911 GT3 RS 4.0 in person, which is just such a special car. That would have been enough for an incredible Sunday, but afterwards we went shooting. Andrew’s buddy is your dedicated gun nut, down to having a dedicated gun room in his basement filled to the brim with at least 30 guns. He had rifles, shotguns, AR-15s, pistols and handguns of every variety. This guy definitely sketched me out more than just a little. Still, I was excited to handle some guns. The last time I laid hands on a gun was at a range when I was around 15. I fired a bolt action .22 rifle and that’s it. This was a bit more. I fired a .45, a .40, and a 9mm. I fired both a pump action and a semiautomatic 12 gauge shotgun. I fired an AR-15 chambered for 5.56mm rounds and one chambered to fire 12 gauge shells. I even fired a .44 magnum. It was an addictive experience. We peppered the range with plastic bottles at varying distances to shoot at. For a first time shooter, I surprised the hell out of myself at how accurate I was with a handgun. Some of those guns legitimately hurt to handle. My right pec and bicep are bruised quite a bit from the kickback of the shotguns. As for the .44 magnum, that thing just kicks like a mule. Shooting it twice starts to hurt your hands from the recoil. It was still a total blast. The conclusion? Guns are FUN! I’m mildly considering purchasing a handgun of my own sometime in the future.

I was interested in trying some local Cincinatti grub while I was here, and was treated to Skyline, a fast food joint specializing in chili dogs covered with shredded cheese, mustard and onions. It did not disappoint.

Sadly, the weekend is over. Back to reality.

 

“A man who hasn’t built up a certain immunity to love through constant exposure to it is in danger of being all but killed by love when the first exposure comes.” -Vonnegut

Leave a Reply

