So I may or may not have saved a woman’s life tonight. She was picking up tramadol, an opiate related painkiller. She’s also on Cymbalta, an antidepressant working to increase serotonin levels or keep serotonin in the brain longer. In concert with each other, tramadol and antidepressants like Cymbalta can lead to a synergistic effect, too much serotonin in the brain and the possible onset of serotonin syndrome, a potentially fatal condition characterized by tachycardia, hyperthermia, and seizures. The lady had no idea and was so grateful I had warned her. These are the things that can happen when you see multiple doctors who are unaware what the other is prescribing.

It’s moments like that that make community pharmacy almost worth it, but honestly they’re just too few and far in between. I refuse to spend my career robotically checking scripts, calling insurances on rejections, dealing with idiot customers, answering phones and hearing “No” every time I ask a patient if they have any questions about their medication. As a medical liaison, I’ll be working with doctors who WILL have questions, and I’ll be the fucking big dog who knows everything there is to know about my drug(s).

In other news, I’ve hit my data cap on my phone because I am an idiot. I’ve never had to work 8 hours without wifi and realized that I eat data a lot quicker than I thought. Now I’m without interwebs at work for a week until my data cycle starts over. I may not make it.

I could never change
Just what I feel
My face will never show
What is not real

Leave a Reply

