A Day of Ups and Downs

Down: The other night, I decided to go to Starbucks to get some coffee and read a book. I had also neglected to eat dinner for some reason. As a result, I woke up at 4am, and stayed that way. Nausea wracked me from a combination of coffee on an empty stomach and gnawing hunger. The nausea persisted well into the early afternoon until I got some lunch in me.

Up: At lunch, I met a cutie who is on rotation at the same company I’m at. Later, I got a call from an RML (regional medical liaison) working in the Jersey area who offered to let me shadow him for a day and see an RML in action. So I basically scored myself a field trip and an opportunity to see the actual day to day of the career path I plan on going down.

Down: There was a snafu at work this past weekend. Weeks earlier, I had agreed to cover 3 shifts at one of the Walgreens in my area and had neglected to note the last shift in my calendar. As luck would have it, I had agreed to cover the same exact shift at another store this past weekend. My parents got a call from a Walgreens, not realizing which one was actually calling, and told them that I was on the way. So I unintentionally noshowed for that particular shift. This also had to happen a week after I accidentally forgot about a Sunday shift at my own store. It was only a dumb 4 hour shift and for some reason I had it in my head that I wasn’t working that day. I had offered to come in if they needed me, but the pharmacist had reassured that they’d be fine and they turned out to be pretty slow that day anyway.

So now because of the proximity of these two noshows, the new manager at my store is expecting a meet with me on Friday. I haven’t even met the guy yet. So I’ve already made a terrific first impression without even trying. I’ll explain things and I’m sure it’ll be fine, but it’s still a shitty scenario. C’est la vie.

Find the little evil perpetrator,
And feed them to the hungry alligator,
You want it all,
You want it all,
Love is not about the profits,
Nor the riches in your dreams…

4 responses to “A Day of Ups and Downs

Leave a Reply

