Scents and Memories

Coconut. She wore coconut hand lotion. She embodied the scent. I remember how my clothes smelled like it, and my pillow smelled of her the next morning. I remember clinging to that scent as hard as I could, knowing that it was fading. Once she even sent me a letter smelling like coconut. After we broke up, the smell of coconut actually elicited a physical reaction from me, like something my mind desperately wanted to refuse. It would take me a while before I could handle the smell.  Even now, I’m less than comfortable with the smell.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/09/daily-prompt-transported/

One response to “Scents and Memories

  1. Pingback: The nostalgia of scent and sound | Dit-oui

Leave a Reply

