Portlandia

I just started watching this show at the behest of a buddy and oh my fuck, I should have started watching this show ages ago. It’s the kind of funny where I was gasping for air. I had no idea what Portland was in terms of culture, and I’m giving serious thought into moving out to that area (or Seattle) at some point, so this is actually research in addition to being one of the funniest fucking shows I’ve ever seen. The writing is brilliant and the acting, done mainly by Fred Armisen and Carrie Brownstein (in addition to incredible cameos from many well known actors), is just awesome.

Every episode is split into little skits with an overarching main skit. Mostly the show just skewers the pretentious hipsters that Portland is apparently known for.

But then some skits just devolve into the absurd (see below). I was still laughing my tits off, but it was definitely with a tinge of “what the actual fuck?!” Granted, Japanese shows are weird by their virtue, so I think the skit is largely just riffing on that.

3 responses to “Portlandia

  1. due to my general dislike of hipsters I too enjoy Portlandia. let me know when you get to the Women & Women First bookstore skits :) I am laughing right now just thinking about it

Leave a Reply

