Du bist hier in meinem Land

Date night! #1 of the weekend at any rate. I had a good time! Nice girl. I was a little nervous from the photos that she’d be a chubbo, since fat girls love posting photos of their face and nothing else or they’ll post black and white photos of themselves sitting 300 feet away on a beach. She was fine though. We had some coffee, went for a walk by the waterfront, sat on a dock by the water a bit, and then I walked her home. Conversation was relatively easy and not forced. She’s a bright girl (she used the word “lionized” in conversation!), she has a sense of humor, makes fun of hipsters, and gets my sarcasm, so that’s also a good sign. I’d like to make a date #2 out of this one.

We’ll have to see how tomorrow goes with the other girl. We’re getting coffee in the morning and day dates are kinda iffy in my head, but whatever happens happens.

While we were hanging out tonight, we got on the topic of cops and getting pulled over. I told her that I’ve been lucky in the 3 years that I’ve lived here, that I’ve gotten along with the local police and haven’t been pulled over. So of course I get pulled over on the drive home. I was driving slightly dickishly in a part of town with a ridiculous 25mph speed limit where everyone does 45 anyway, but a tiny noisy orange car tends to look faster than other cars. Thankfully the cop wasn’t a dick and let me off with a warning.

Also, here’s a mildly cynical observation: I’ve found that in dating, I repeat the same collection of stories that I’ve perfected over time. They’re like tapes that I can put in at will of a recorded monologue about vacations, pharmacy school, etc. It’s a little weird how preprogrammed and rehearsed dating conversation seems, and I’m sure I’m not alone in this.

One response to “Du bist hier in meinem Land

  1. Yay! Ding ding ding! We have a winner! Glad you had a good date! Sounds better than the other one. I cannot STAND people who don’t get my humor. HUGE turn off. Wait, actually, deal breaker.

Leave a Reply

