August Blues

Daily Prompt: As a kid, were you happy or anxious about going back to school? Now that you’re older, how has your attitude toward the end of the summer evolved?

 

As a kid, summer meant playing a whole fuckton of videogames, summer camp, and relaxing. So yeah, I was never thrilled to go back each year when September would inevitably roll around thanks to the earth’s incessant rotation around the hot ball of fire we call our sun.

Now that I’m a big boy of 25 years and out of school, summers have lost their significance. Moreover, being in the middle of this postcollegiate drift of unemployment and drudgery, summer is especially meaningless for me, much like most days. Each day is simply another day to catch up on the Twitter, think about life, mock idiots on my Facebook feed, email people for work, read books, hang out with a buddy once in a while, and occasionally convince a foolish girl to go on a date with me. Throughout all this, I find time to eat a few times and void my bowels.

Despite this oversimplification, I do like summer. I infinitely prefer it to winter, when the only thing I have to greet me outside is whistling wind, gray skies, naked trees, sticks and death. Summer means oppressive heat and beautiful air conditioning, something I only just recently had the privilege to enjoy in my car after 2 years of it being broken. Summer means the beach, which means flip flops, books, and my mom nagging me to get out of the sun. It means 40 minute drives down the highway with sandy legs and sandy floor mats, fiddling with the radio to find something we can tolerate, only to lose it 15 minutes later to crackling static. On weekends, summer also means lunch at a fantastic little pizza spot in Jersey that serves thin crust pizza and wings that are quite possibly the closest I’ve ever felt to God.

I’m still waiting to hear back from the Goddamn board about my authorization to test so I can sit for my licensing exam. Governmental inefficiency is absolutely infuriating.

I’ve got an odd fetish for sad songs. And I suppose that’s fine if you’re single, but here’s an interesting thought: when a significant other plays you a sad song, who are they thinking about?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/august-blues/

2 responses to “August Blues

  1. Pingback: The 31st of August 2012 – Washington, DC | Forgotten Correspondence

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: August Blues | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

