I got to wondering the other day,
I wondered if you still have my t-shirts,
Do they still smell like me?
Do they smell like cologne, youth and regret?

I’ve gotten older, but clearly haven’t gotten smarter,
I clearly haven’t learned to avoid touching stoves
Or walking in traffic
Or poking beehives

Fuck your institutions,
Fuck your distance,
And fuck your rules,
Because this heart couldn’t care less

The heart wants what the heart wants,
And what the heart wants is to kill me,
It wants to turn the clocks back,
It wants to be less of an asshole,
It wants anything but this emptiness,
Anything at all but this…

Leave a Reply

